FEATURED: Why Are Black People Obsessed With The Bible That Was Used To Enslave ...

19.10.2008 Politics

Confusion over use of name of Afigya-Kwabre district

By gna

There has been confusion over the new Afigya-Kwabre District and its constituencies since the creation of the assembly this year.

Mr. Kwaku Osei-Poku, the Afigya-Kwabre District Coordinating Director, said due to this problem important correspondence had been missing and others wander through many districts before finally reaching the district when messages contained in them might have expired.

Mr. Osei-Poku said in a statement that the name sometimes goes out as Afigya-Kwabre West District Assembly, Kwabre West District Assembly, Afigya-Sekyere Kwabre, or Afigya-Kwabre East District Assembly.

He said the new district has its name as Afigya-Kwabre District, with its district headquarters at Kodie.

The district has two constituencies which are Kwabre West constituency with Mr. Emmanuel Asamoah Owusu-Ansah as its Member of Parliament and Afigya-Sekyere West constituency with Mr. Albert Kan-Dapaah as its Member of Parliament and the district capital is Boamang.

Mr. Osei-Poku said the district was created from part of Kwabre District and Afigya-Sekyere District and that Kwabre District still retains its name with Mamponteng as its capital.

He said “what was formerly called Afigya-Sekyere District no longer exists. That area is now called Sekyere South District with Agona as the district capital. Interestingly, it also has only one constituency called Afigya-Sekyere East with Mr. David Yeboah as the MP.''