16.05.2008 Politics

DPP chairmanship slot non-contestable – Ward-Brew

16.05.2008 LISTEN

The Democratic People's Party (DPP) on Friday said
the party's national chairmanship position was non-contestable and a preserve for the founder and leader, Mr. Thomas N. Ward-Brew.
The special arrangement was to avoid intra-party conflict between the founder and national chairman, and also to ensure continuity of the vision and aspirations of the founder, Mr Ward-Brew told the Ghana News Agency in an interview in Accra.
Asked whether that would not make the party undemocratic, he said: “This
is our party's constitutional arrangement.”
On preparation towards the National Delegates' Congress slated for Saturday, May 17, Mr Ward-Brew said about 500 delegates – two each from the
230 Constituencies, two regional executives and founding fathers - would be attending to elect a flag bear for Election 2008.
Three leading members of the party are contesting the flag bearer slot –
Mr Ward-Brew, Mr Alfred Opoku Essien and Mrs Lovia Amponsah.
All the 11 National Executive officers stood unopposed at the close of nomination. They are: Mr G. M. Tettey and Mr Ekow Bentil, first and second vice chairmen respectively; Alhaji Muhammad Salisu Sulaimana, General Secretary; Nii Otoo Otoo (Eds correct), Deputy General Secretary and Mr Francis Smith, Financial Secretary.
Others are: Mr Kojo Rockson, National Organiser; Mr Kenneth Dadzie, Deputy National Organiser; Ms Eunice Banson, National Women's Organiser; Mr Mathias Boateng, Youth Organiser; Mr Frank Tandoh, Treasurer and Mr Ali Umar Kuriba, Education Secretary.
Mr Ward-Brew said congress would also study the General Secretary's annual report, the financial secretary's report and assess the state of the nation.
He said elected parliamentary candidates of the party from almost all the 230 constituencies would also be introduced to the media.
The DPP would be the sixth political party to elect its flag bearer for Election 2008 after the National Democratic Congress (NDC), the People's National Convention (PNC), the Convention People's Party (CPP), the ruling New Patriotic Party (NPP) and the Democratic Freedom Party (DFP).
On arrangements for security at the Congress, Nii Otoo Otoo, Deputy General Secretary, told the GNA that the Police Service and other national security agencies had been fully entrusted with the responsibility to ensure the safety of delegates.
"The Party has discussed security arrangements with the Police High Command and we expect nothing else than the exhibition of professional standards by the men and women in uniform, who would be deployed on Congress grounds," he said.
Nii Otoo Otoo said all logistics had been secured for the Congress, adding "we are surely ready for the Congress".
He advised delegates, representatives of all the aspirants, the rank and file, representatives of political parties, media and cross-section of the public to strictly adhere to the rules and regulations of the Congress to ensure a successful event.

ModernGhana Links