Modern Ghana logo

FEATURED: [trailer] Anas To Drop Shocking Video On Children At Orphanage Eating ...

07.12.2007 NPP News

NPP presidential aspirants pick position on ballot paper


The 17 presidential aspirant of the ruling New Patriotic Party (NPP) for the December 22 Special National Delegates' Congress on Wednesday cast lots for their positions on the ballot paper.

The two-phase process of balloting was to ensure transparency in conformity with the electoral administrative procedure adopted by the Electoral Commission in the last two elections.

The first balloting was to determine the order in which aspirants would be called to come and do the picking and the second to determine the positions on the ballot paper.

At the end of the process, Mr Yaw Osafo-Maafo, former Minister of Education, Science and Sports picked the first position, whilst Mr Kwesi Felix Owusu-Agyapong, former Minister of Parliamentary Affairs picked the last spot.

The Ghana News Agency said it observed that most of the aspirants who were represented by their agents immediately communicated the message to their masters on phone.

Some superstitious party members were seen lamenting over the positions, while others jubilated for the position, which they considered could influence their chances of winning the contest.

The final positions to appear on the ballot papers were: (1) Mr. Yaw Osafo-Maafo (2) Mr Kwabena Agyepong (3) Prof. Mike Oquaye (4) Mr Kwame Hackman Owusu-Agyemang and (5) Dr Barfuor Adjei-Barwuah.

The others were: (6) Mr Jake Otanka Obetsebi-Lamptey (7) Daniel Kweku Botwe (8) Alan John Kyerematen (9) Dr Kofi Konadu Apraku (10) Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo (11) Papa Owusu Ankomah and (12) Mr Boakye Kyeremanteng Agyarko.

The rest were: (13) Dr Kobina Arthur Kennedy (14) Prof. Kwabena Frimpong-Boateng (15) Alhaji Aliu Mahama (16) Dr. Kwame Addo Kufuor and (17) Mr Felix Kwesi Owusu-Adjapong.

According to a party directive no aspirant would be allowed to supply labelled pure water to delegates during the Congress.