Modern Ghana logo

FEATURED: [trailer] Anas To Drop Shocking Video On Children At Orphanage Eating ...

22.11.2007 Football News

Ghana Survives Beninnoise Scare


The Black Stars of Ghana defeated the Squirrels of Benin 4-2 to win the Zenith Bank Four-Nation Tournament at the Ohene Djan Sports Stadium in
Accra yesterday.
The Beninnoise took the lead in the 24th minute through Sessegnon Stephane when he converted a penalty awarded to his side after Haminu Dramani pushed down his opponent in the penalty box.

The Stars struggled to cancel the lead before the close of the first half but failed on countless occasions leaving the score-line unchanged.   Striker Omotoyossi Razack of
Benin stunned the entire stadium when he raced past Kofi Amponsah and dislodged keeper Sammy Adjei before slotting in the second goal in the 46th minute.

Manuel Junior Agogo reduced the tally at the stroke of the 46th minute after beating an offside trap. 
Ghana maintained the pressure on the Beninnoise and succeeded in levelling up through a solo move by Laryea Kingston in the 71st minute.

 He weaved through the defensive system of the Squirrels before delivering a mid air shot that bounced off the lower edge of the goal post before rolling into the net.
 Skipper Stephen Appiah gave
Ghana an insurance goal when he completed another move initiated by
Kingston to fire in the third goal in the 83rd minute.

Kingston who had the best time of the day delivered another master piece free-kick in the 86th minute, which keeper Chitou Razack could not provide any answer.
 The win gave the Stars 70,000, Dollar prize at stake with
Benin taking home 50, 000 Dollars.

The tournament was part of preparations towards the Ghana 2008 Africa Cup of Nations.
 The line up of
Ghana was: Sammy Adjei, Kofi Amponsah, John Mensah,Anthony Annan, Laryea Kingston, Michael Essien, Stephen Appiah,Mathew Amoah, Manuel Junior Agogo, Sulley Muntari, Haminu Dramani, Baffour Gyan,Andre Ayew, Musah Nary/Hans Adu Sarpei.

The line up of
Benin was: Chitou Razack, Chrysostome Damien, Konabe Chomogo Geidath, Gaspoz Alain, Adjanousi Anicet, Oketola Jonas, Ahoueya Jocelyn, Omotoyossi Razack, Ogunvnbysi Mouritala, Abou Gariga Maiga, Sessegnon Stephane.
Togo beat
United Arab Emirates 5-0 to take the third place of the tournament.