26.10.2007 General News

Twenty-Five New Districts And Three Municipal Assemblies Created

Listen to article

President John Agyekum Kufuor has created 25 new Districts and three Municipal Assemblies bringing the total number of districts to 166.
A statement signed by Mr Kwadwo Adjei-Darko, Minister for Local Government, Rural Development and Environment said Tema and Cape Coast had also been elevated to Metropolitan Assemblies.
The new Municipal Assemblies are Ledzokuku-Krowor, with headquarters at Teshie Nungua, Adenta-Ashaiman (Adenta) and Weija (Mallam).
The District Assemblies are: Shama, Prestea-Huni Valley, Sefwi Akontombra, Gomoa East, Awutu Senya, Upper Denkyira West, Biakoye and Ketu North.
The others are: Nkwanta North, Upper Manya, Birim South, Kwahu East, Offinso North, Atwima-Kwanwoma, Kumawu Afram Plains and Nsuta-Kwamang Beposo.
The rest are: Afigya-Kwabre, Bosome Freho, Sunyani West, Dromaa East, Nkoranza North, Chereponi, Kpandai, Lambussie and Kassena Nankana West.

ModernGhana Links