modernghana logo

FEATURED: What A Reader In Ghana Wrote To Yours Truly: The Baptism Of Adam Revea...

July 3, 2007 | General News

76 nominated for national awards


The government has nominated 76 people for various categories of awards at this year's National Honours awards.

Last year, the government designated June 30 every year as the National Awards Day.

A statement signed by the Press Secretary to the President and Presidential Spokesman, Mr Andrew Awuni, said in view of the ongoing African Union (AU) Summit, this year's awards had been rescheduled for Friday, July 6, 2007 at the Accra International Conference Centre.

It mentioned the categories of awards as Member of the Star of the Order of Ghana, Companion of the Order of the Volta, Member of the Order of the Volta and the Grand Medal.

"In all, three persons will receive the Member of the Order of the Star of Ghana award, 16 people will also receive the Companion of the Order of the Volta award, while 35 others will be awarded the Member of the Order of the Volta, with 21 receiving the Grand Medal," it added.

The statement requested the award winners to submit their recent passport-size photographs to the Secretary to the Cabinet, at the Castle, Osu, for processing.

It named Mrs Justice Georgina Wood, Ghana's first female Chief Justice, Nana Otuo Serebuor, the Omanhene of Juaben-Asante and member of the Council of State, and Dr Paul Acquah, the Governor of the Bank of Ghana as the recipients of the Order of the Star of Ghana award.

It said Professors Robert Kwami, Akilakpa Sawyer, John S. K. Ayim, Addow Obeng and Naa Prof. J. S. Nabila, Dr Jones Ofori-Atta, Dr G. K. Agama, Mr Paul Victor Obeng, Mr Frank W. Beecham, Mr Robert Wood, Mr Hermans-Mensah, Mr Kwaku-Owusu, Dr Owusu Ansah, Col Abaka Jackson, Madam Ama Busia, Alhaji Yusuf and Nene Dautey Ologo were awardees of the Order of the Volta (Companion Division).

For awardees of the Order of the Volta (Member Division), the statement mentioned Professor S. Ofosu-Amaah, Professor Henry Holdbrook-Smith, a former Chief Executive of the Korle-Bu Teaching Hospital, Prof George Wereko Brobbey of the Korle-Bu Teaching Hospital, Dr Edward Atterh Narh of the Narh Beta Clinic, Prof Ablade Glover, artist, and Mr Patrick Awuah of the Ashesi University.

Other awardees in the same category include Professor Atukwei Okai, poet and writer, Messrs A.S. Y. Andoh, Charles Cofie, Smart Y. A. Chigabatia, Idris Rockson, Kwame Amo Dako, former President of the Ghana National Association of Teachers (GNAT), Freddie Blay, Mike Dugan, Sam Okudjeto, Imoro Ayarna, S.K. Jantuah, Rowland Alhassan, Amoah Awuah, Mrs Irene M.A. Wontumi, Ms Alice Darkoa Asare and Nana Kwasi Atakyi.

The others are Nana Agyeman Gyau, Nana Akompi, Nana Aggrey, Bishop Agyin Asare, Rev C. B. Ahwireng, Apostle Kwadwo Safo, Alhaji Idrissu Adamu, Messrs Owusu Prempeh, Mike Eghan, Daniel Amponsah (Koo Nimo) and Nana Kwame Ampadu.

The statement mentioned Mrs Adelaide Kwami, Mrs Khatumi Fuseini, Mrs Prudence Gyader, Mrs Gertrude Oforiwa Fefoame, Ms Melanie Thaddae Kasise, Mr Joris Wartemberg, Ms Joyce Addo, Dr Noamesi, Gottlied Kofi and Messrs Kwasi Awuku Yirenkyi, B. K. Dontwi and Offei Awuku as awardees in the Grand Medal category .

It said Alhaji Sidiku Buari, Faizal Helwani, Pat Thomas, Nat Brew (Amandzeba), Ofori Amponsah, Ike Quartey, as well as Cindy Thompson, Grace Ashie and Diana Akinwumi, were the other winners of the Grand Medal.

Video News


By: Ancela Suparno quot-img-1