MTN, Vodafone, others win big at 2021 GITT Awards

By Eric Nana Yaw Kwafo
Business & Finance MTN, Vodafone, others win big at 2021 GITT Awards
NOV 1, 2021 LISTEN

Telecom giant, MTN Ghana on Friday, October 29, 2021, bagged as many as 9 top awards at the 2021 Ghana Information Technology & Telecom Awards (GITTA).

Now in its 11th year, the Ghana Information Technology and Telecom Awards has become the cornerstone that promotes and celebrates governments, operators, ISP, infrastructure providers, Fintechs, banks, and other stakeholders.

The event seeks to share the progress of their successful ICT innovations, aiming to further enhance the Ghanaian community as part of the government’s vision of a robust digital economy.

Powered by InstinctWave and co-hosting with the 6th Edition of the newly rebranded Africa Digital Economy Awards, this year’s awards recognised digitisation across all sectors with an award for players in Public Sector, Banking, Telecoms, ICT, Manufacturing, Agriculture, Health, and all other sectors involved in digitisation.

Expressing his excitement about this year’s edition of the awards scheme, InstinctWave Chief Executive Officer, Akin Naphtal stressed its importance, noting that the awards is a catalyst of innovation and digitization on the African continent at large.

“We cannot underestimate the role of technology and digitization and its importance to national development and the development of the entire continent of Africa,” Mr Naphtal noted.

In his welcome address, the InstinctWave CEO added, "I would use this opportunity to congratulate all award winners, we are not in a competition for ourselves but for the benefit of our growing digital citizens who now rely on our daily service delivery to improve their business and livelihood."

On the glamourous night of the 2021 GITTA held at the Movenpick Ambassador Hotel, MTN Ghana won big [9 awards] as a number of personnel and services took home various awards.

The reliable network provider was named Mobile Data Service Provider of the Year, Customer Experience of the Year, and also given Excellence in Social Investment award.

For the icing on the cake, the Chief Executive Officer of MTN Ghana, Selorm Adadevoh was named the CEO of the Year at the 2021 GITTA.


On the night, Vodafone Ghana emerged with the second highest number of awards.

While its CEO Patricia Obo-Nai was named Industry Personality of the Year, it also bagged the awards for Unified Communications Provider of the Year, and the Telecom Business Service Provider of the Year.

For the other winners on the night, the Minister for Communications and Digitalisation, Ursula Owusu-Ekuful received the digital leader of the year award with TECHNO and ATC being named Smartphone Brand of the Year and Wireless Infrastructure Provider of the Year respectively.

Below is the full list of awardees for the 2021 GITTA:

Category Winner
Cyber Security Consulting Company of the Year Cyberteq Falcon
Emerging ICT Company of the Year Technology Advantage Group
Mobile Data Service Provider of the Year MTN
Enterprise Solutions Provider of the Year Comsys
Cyber Forensic Technology Solutions Provider of the Year e-Crime Bureau
Wholesale Infrastructure provider of the Year CSquared
Unified Communications Provider of the Year Vodafone
Wireless Infrastructure Provider of the Year ATC
Customer Experience of the Year MTN
Promoting Public Sector Digital Inclusion Ascend Digital Solutions
Payments System Innovation of the Year GhQR By GhIPSS
Best Use of ICT in Driving Efficiency Driver and Vehicle Licensing Authority ( DVLA)
Metro Fibre Infrastructure Company of the Year Comsys
Excellence in ICT for Sustainable Development GIFEC
Telecom Support Company of the Year ATC
Innovative Card Product of The Year Eazypay Gh Dual Card By Zenith Bank
Fintech Company of the Year Zeepay
Mobile Money Leadership Award MTN Momo
Smartphone Brand of the Year TECNO
Internet Service Provider of the Year Comsys
Business Transformation Company of the Year Cloudware
Telecom Business Service Provider of the Year Vodafone
Digital Bank of the Year Standard Chartered
Best ATM and Kiosk Implementation Award Absa
Innovative Product of the Year Vodafone Cash
Excellence in Cyber Security Initiatives Cyber Security Authority
Mobile Banking App of the year Standard Chartered
Excellence in Social Investment MTN
Phone Distributor of the Year Mobile Zone
Best Bank for Financial Inclusion Zenith Bank Ghana
Innovative e-payment solutions Provider of the Year Accelerex Ghana
ICT Manage Services Company of the Year Liranz
Innovative Data Centre Provider of the Year Africa Datacentre ( ADC)
Africa Infrastructure Company of the Year IHS
Excellence in Driving Digital Transformation HUAWEI
Digital Transformation Provider of the Year Reliance Infosystem
Network Operations Team of the Year MTN Network Team
Digital Transformation Team of the Year Vodafone
Customer Service Team of the Year MTN Customer Service Team
Telecom Tower Hall all of Fame ATC
Bespoke Product of the Year (Sika Kokoo Data) AirtelTigo
Outstanding Contribution to ICT Reporting Samuel Dowuona, Editor, Tech24gh
Most Promising Customer Services Professional of the Year Salihu Abu, Senior Manager, Customer Relations & Credit Management, MTN
Most Promising Technology Professional of the Year Joseph Lamptey, Technology – Service Delivery, Vodafone
Most Promising Customer Services Professional of the Year Lawrence Akosen, Senior Manager, Customer Experience, Planning & Enablement
Outstanding Contribution to the Mobile Phone Industry Maxwell Techie, CEO, MobileZone
Datacenter CEO of the Year Stephane Duproz, CEO of Africa Data Centers
Outstanding Contribution to the Data Center Industry Engr Ike Nnamani, Founder/CEO Medallion
Datacenter CTO of the Year Krish Ranganath, CTO, Africa Datacentre
FinTech Person of the Year Ali Hussein, Co-Founder & CEO - Kipochi
IT Professional of Year Ebo Richardson, Chief Enablement and Information Officer, Absa Ghana
Fintech CEO of the Year Andrew Takyi-Appiah, CEO, Zeepay
Telecom CTO of the Year Thomas Motlepa, CTO, MTN Ghana
Women in Technology Award Estelle Akofio-Sowah, West Africa Regional Manager, CSquared
Payment Industry Personality of the Year Archie Hesse, CEO, Ghana Interbank Payment and Settlement Systems (GhIPSS)
Industry Personality of the Year Patricia Obo-Nai, CEO, Vodafone Ghana
Public Sector IT Leadership Award: Kwasi Agyemang Busia, CEO, DVLA
Technology Person of the Year Dr. Tomisin Fashina Group Executive - Operations & Technology, Ecobank Managing Director of Ecobank Eprocess International
CEO of the Year Selorm Adadevoh, CEO, MTN Ghana
Digital Leader of the Year Hon. Ursula Owusu-Ekuful Minister of Communications & Digitization

Eric Nana Yaw Kwafo
Eric Nana Yaw Kwafo


ModernGhana Links