ModernGhana logo
03.03.2021 Parliament

Oppong Nkrumah, Hawa, Akoto Afriyie approved by Majority decision

Oppong Nkrumah, Hawa, Akoto Afriyie approved by Majority decision
LISTEN MAR 3, 2021

Minister-designate for Information Kojo Oppong Nkrumah and the two others who were reportedly rejected by the Minority caucus on the Appointments Committee have been approved by a Majority decision.

The two others, Hawa Koomson and Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto who were rejected by the Minority for varied reasons have now been cleared for approval by the House, Starr News has learnt.

Meanwhile, minority members on the Appointments Committee of Parliament have withdrawn their consent for the approval of the three security sector ministers-designate following an uproar in the NDC.

Kan Dapaah, for National Security, Dominic Nitiwul for Defence, and Ambrose Dery for Interior had already been approved by the NDC MPs on the committee but the party has raised concerns over the move citing the nominees’ alleged role in the Ayawaso by-election violence and the killings that took place in 2020 polls.

At a caucus meeting Wednesday which lasted for over 2 hours, the caucus resolved to withdraw their consent for the consensus approval of the trio.