FEATURED: Let's Embed Rawlings' Values In The National Psyche — Parliament...

08.01.2021 NDC News

Ofosu Ampofo salutes NDC MPs for securing speakership position for Bagbin

Ofosu Ampofo salutes NDC MPs for securing speakership position for Bagbin
Listen to article

The National Chairman of the National Democratic Congress (NDC), Samuel Ofosu Ampofo, has commended the party for its determination and courage to secure the speakership position for Alban Bagbin.

“Our members of Parliament have, through creative skills, experience, perseverance, and determination, shown that the wings of the oppressor can be clipped, and they indeed clipped it,” he said.

“I feel particularly proud of the men and women who represent our Party in Parliament. I do not have the right words to commend our gallant, courageous, and strategic Honourable MPs for fighting through the night to ensure that our country elected Rt. Hon. Alban Sumana Kingsford Bagbin as Speaker of the Eighth Parliament of Ghana.”

Mr. Ampofo, in a statement issued in Accra, said: “Together we will emerge stronger and better”.

“It has been a long tedious struggle on what seems like a lonely journey from December 7, 2020, till now, amidst intimidation, bullying, and outright violence visited on our compatriots.”

He said without unity, unwavering determination, and steel-like courage, they could have suffered further oppression and suppression by the forces of anti-democracy.

“Let me also say that I admire the patriotism of those New Patriotic Party Members of Parliament, who saw reason in our cause and voted our way in choosing the speaker. I can only say kudos!” Mr. Ampofo said.

“I salute all party members across the country and ask for calm and moderation as we trust in leadership for further political actions.”

“Ours is a struggle to make Ghana better for all. The Rescue Mission continues and with God, on our side, we shall surely overcome,” he added.

Bagbin, who is a former Member of Parliament for Nadowli Kaleo and a member of the opposition NDC was elected as the Speaker of the 8th Parliament last Thursday.

Mr. Bagbin, who was the Second Deputy Speaker in the previous Parliament won the elections with 138 votes.

His only contender, Prof. Aaron Mike Oquaye polled 136 votes.


Modern Ghana Links