25.08.2006 Regional News

Fourteen Communities To Be Hooked Onto National Electricity Grid

Listen to article

Fourteen communities in the Atwima-Mponua District of the Region Ashanti would soon be hooked onto the national electricity grid. The communities include Anwiafutu, Botrampa, Pakyi-Nkrumah, Ahyiresu, Abofrem, Kyereyaaso and Sreso-Tinpom.

The rest are Donkoto, Antwi-Agyeikrom, Tanodumase, Nyinawusu, Saakrom, Achiase and Bayerebon.

Mr Wilberforce Owusu-Ansah, Atwima-Mponua District Chief Executive, disclosed this at the formal dissolution of the District Assembly at Nyinahin last Wednesday.

The DCE said upon the successful utilisation of the HIPC funds, the HIPC secretariat had further released 990 million cedis for the construction of an enviro-toilet at Tanodumase, teachers' quarters at Kwame Dwaa-Sreso and the supply of dual desks to schools in the deprived areas.

Mr Owusu-Ansah said following the successful payment of the assembly/community counterpart funding of 230 million cedis in Town IV Project, all the four-unit classroom blocks with sanitary facilities at Akonkye, Akorabuokrom, Agogoso and Beposo envisaged under the project had reached roofing stage.

He said the assembly is supporting 40 pupil-teachers and maintaining its sponsorship package for over 263 trainee-teachers and nurses with an annual allocation of 78 million cedis.

This, he said would help solve the imbalance in the teacher-pupil and nurse-patient ratio in the district.

Mr Owusu-Ansah said the assembly had provided a six-unit office and store for the Addaikrom Primary School and in addition, the Adupri and Addaikrom schools were enjoying the national school-feeding programme.

The DCE said the assembly paid considerable sums of money each year on workshops for Science, Technology and Mathematics Education (STME) to demystify the subjects in the basic schools with emphasis on the girl-child.

ModernGhana Links