07.08.2020 General News

Akufo-Addo Nominate Three New MMDCEs

By Eric Nana Yaw Kwafo
H.E Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-AddoH.E Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo
Listen to article

President Akufo-Addo has nominated three persons for the positions of Chief Executives for Sekondi-Takoradi Metropolitan Assembly, Akwapim North Municipal Assembly, and Amansie South District Assembly.

The nominations have been confirmed through a press release from the Ministry of Local Government and Rural Development (MLGRD) dated August 6, 2020, and signed by the sector Minister Hajia Halima Mahama.

“His Excellency the President in accordance with Article 243(1) of the 1992 Constitution and section 20(1) of the Local Government Act, Act 963, has nominated the following persons as Metropolitan/Municipal/District Chief Executives (MMDCEs)”, part of the release said.

Abdul-Mumin Issah and Barima Awuah Sarpong Asiedu Larbi have been appointed for the Chief Executive roles for Sekondi-Takoradi Metropolitan Assembly and the Akwapim North Municipal Assembly respectively.

For the Amansie South District Assembly, Clement Opoku Gyamfi has been nominated by President Nana Akufo-Addo.

Regional Ministers for Western, Eastern, and Ashanti Regions are requested by the Ministry of Local government to liaise with the Regional Electoral Commission to conduct the confirmation process of the nominated Chief Executives.


Eric Nana Yaw Kwafo
Eric Nana Yaw Kwafo


ModernGhana Links