14.08.2006 General News

NUGS elects new national officers

Listen to article

A student of the Central campus of the University of Education, Winneba, William Yamoah, has been elected as the new President of the National Union of Ghana Students (NUGS).

In an election characterised by controversies and petitions, Mr Yamoah polled 157 votes to beat seven other contestants to take up the mantle.

The elections, which were held under heavy armed police presence, also saw the election of Miss Regina Yaa Nyarko, as the General Secretary.

The controversies began when after a nightlong balloting, two of the presidential candidates petitioned against the counting of the papers, claming that the elections were not supervised by the National Electoral Commission.

In the mist of the confusion and after several arguments and consultations, a consensus was reached and a memorandum of understanding was signed by all the candidates in the elections to agree to the counting and acceptance of the results and the petitions were referred to the judicial committee of the Union for investigations.

However, the two, Elvis Yaw Boamah of KNUST and Richard Nyama of Legon did not sign the memorandum.

The judicial committee after its investigations concluded that the arguments in the petitions were not tangible enough to merit the nullification of the elections and declared that the elections should be continued.

As if that was not enough, after the counting of the presidential ballots, the polling agent of Mr Frank Kwabena Yeboah, one of the presidential candidates refused to endorse the results claiming that, the counting had been marred with fraud resulting in the defeat of his candidate.

Mr Yeboah had 147 votes and therefore, placed second in the presidential race.

The subsequent recounting and wrangling delayed the official declaration of the results for well over one hour making, some of the delegates leaving for their schools.

Mr Yeboah after several discussions and consultations agreed and endorsed the results himself. He later publicly admitted the results and called for unity among the students to ensure the sustenance of the Union.

Other executive members elected were Mr William Kofi Boateng, Treasurer, Jerry Wonder Appiah, Projects and Programmes, Abdulai Abdul Rahman, Press and Information, Elsie Esenam Appau, Women Commissioner, Samuel Quansah, Financial Controller, Samuel Boakye Yiadom, Education and Democratization and Gideon Kusi Boateng, International Relations.

ModernGhana Links