FEATURED: How Human Procreation By Sexual Means Came As Punishment For Sin (part...

20.06.2020 NPP News

NPP Primaries: Voting Smooth In Okaikwei South

NPP Primaries: Voting Smooth In Okaikwei South
LISTEN JUN 20, 2020

Voting in Okaikwei South Constituency of the Greater Accra Region, to elect their parliamentary candidate to lead the New Patriotic Party (NPP) for the coming December general election, got to a smooth start at all the eight designated polling centres.

A visit to some of the centres by the Ghana News Agency (GNA) showed that the exercise started on time and the atmosphere looked relaxed.

The Electoral Commission (EC) is supervising the election.

The race for the party's parliamentary ticket is between the incumbent Member of Parliament (MP), Mrs. Dokoa Newman and Nana fredua-Agyeman Ofori-Atta.

The 826 delegates are voting at Avenor, Awudome, Bubui, Bubuiashie, Kaneshie, Kaatsean, Goten, and Mukose.

Okaikwei South shares boundaries with Okaikoi North to the North, Osu Klottey to the South, Ablekuma Central to the West and Ayawaso West to the East.

The governing party is holding parliamentary primaries in 99 constituencies across the country, to pick candidates to contest the December polls.

The polls opened at 0700 hours and would end at 1300 hours at 2,407 polling centres in the 13 regions, where it has sitting MPs.

Sixty-seven (67) of the aspirants are, however, running unopposed but would be affirmed by the delegates in their constituencies.

They include Mr. Joseph Osei Owusu, MP for Bekwai, Mr. Osei Kyei-Mensa-Bonsu, the MP for Suame, Mr. Alexander Affenyo-Markin MP for Effutu, Mr. Kojo Oppong Nkrumah, MP for Ofoase-Ayirebi, Mrs. Ursula Owusu-Ekuful, MP for Ablekuma West, Dr. Bernard Okoe Boye MP for Ledzokuku.

Mr. Peter Mac Manu, the 2020 Election Campaign Manager of the ruling Party, told the GNA in an interview that adequate preparations had been made to ensure the safety of all delegates towards a successful election.


Powered By Modern Ghana