FEATURED: How Human Procreation By Sexual Means Came As Punishment For Sin (part...

14.06.2020 NPP News

NPP Primaries: 20 Aspirants Contesting In Western Region, 5 In Western North Region

By Matthew Dadzie
NPP Primaries: 20 Aspirants Contesting In Western Region, 5 In Western North Region
LISTEN JUN 14, 2020

A total of 20 parliamentary aspirants of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) in the western region has filed their nominations to contest in the upcoming parliamentary primaries of the party to represent the party in 13 constituencies that have sitting Members of Parliament.

These aspirants after the nominations went through the processes of vetting and was cleared to contest in the primaries which is scheduled to be held over the weekend, June 20, 2020.

Six of the incumbent MPs namely MP for Essikadu-Ketan, Hon. Joe Ghartey, MP for Sekondi, Lawyer Andrew Egyapa Mercer, MP for Evalue Ajomoro Gwira, Catherine Abelema Afeku, MP for Jomoro, Paul Essien, MP for Prestea Huni-Valley, Barbara Oteng Gyasi, MP for Tarkwa-Nsuaem, George Mireku-Duker went into the contest unopposed.

With regard to the constituencies which are being contested, the former DCE of Ahanta West, Kwesi Biney is contesting the incumbent MP, Lawyer Ebenezer Kojo Kum whiles the incumbent MP for Effia, Joseph Cudjoe is also being contested by Adwoa Kwegyirba.

Mr. John Kobina Abbam Aboah Sanie is contesting the incumbent MP for Mpohor Alex Kofi Agyakum.

Takoradi Constituency seat will witness a straight contest by the incumbent MP who doubles as the Western Regional Minister Kwabena Okyere Darko-Mensah and his challenger Mad. Edna Nyame.

The incumbent MP for Kwesimintsim, Mr. Joseph Mensah is being contested by NACCA boss Dr. Prince Hamid Armah.

For the Amenfi East Constituency the incumbent MP Patrick Bogyako-Saime will be battling it out with Edward Amo-Acquah whiles Samuel Erickson Abekah is challenging the incumbent Ato Panford in the Shama constituency seat.

However, five aspirants are contesting in the Western North Region parliamentary primaries in three constituencies that have sitting MPs.

Two of the MPs are you going unopposed to represent the party in the general elections. They are Dr. Kwaku Afriyie, MP for Sefwi Wiawso and MP for Akontombra, Djornobuah Alex Tetteh.

The other seat which is Bibiani Ahwiaso-Bekwai, the incumbent MP who also doubles as the Western North Regional Minister, Kingsley Aboagye Gyedu is facing a fierce contest with the for BOST boss Alfred Obeng Boateng and Christopher Addae.

Powered By Modern Ghana