08.06.2006 Politics

Dan Botwe Bounces Back!

By Daily Guide
Listen to article

The New Patriotic Party (NPP) has set the ball rolling towards retaining power in the 2008 election as it puts in place various committees to chart aThe party yesterday inaugurated the committees, thrusting the party's strategy for winning the 2008 polls on its former General Secretary and immediate past Minister of Information, Dan Botwe.

Mr. Botwe has been appointed chairman of the Research and Strategy Committee, which has Brig Gen J. Odei (rtd), National Co-ordinator of the National Disaster Management Committee (NADMO), Hon Osei Kyei Mensah Bonsu, Majority Chief Whip and Seth Dogbe as members. Other members of the committee are Asamoah Gyamfi, Okaikoi North Secretary, Francis Abil and Mrs. Fati Biney.

The former Speaker of Parliament, Rt. Hon. Peter Ala Adjetey also staged a comeback to the party headquarters as he heads the Constitutional and Legal Committee which boasts also of Efua Ghartey, wife of the Attorney General-designate, Hon Malik Alhassan Yakubu, Third Deputy Speaker of Parliament and Osei Bonsu Amoah, Deputy Minister of Sports. Charles Tetteh, Tony Adams and Nana Adi Ankamah, former Eastern Regional Chairman of the party are other members of the Constitutional and Legal Committee.

Dan Botwe whose recent removal from Cabinet was greeted with surprise, was the toast of everybody at the Asylum Down new headquarters building of the party as he received standing ovation when his name was mentioned. Dan is not new to the position, having headed the Research directorate, from where he contested the General Secretary position in 1998 and won, propelling the NPP to two successive victories. The array of personalities at the inauguration ceremony, which was attended by the Vice President, Alhaji Aliu Mahama, seems to be sending the message that the NPP is alive, kicky and ready to strike.

According to the National Chairman, Peter Mac Manu, the appointment of the standing committee members, comes with a lot of responsibility and so urged them to approach their duties with all the diligence, determination and dedication that go with the positions. "I also wish to state that though you were appointed because of your individual qualities, you should imbue a team spirit in all your deliberations," he stated. He asked the members who have the constitutional obligation to submit quarterly reports to the National Executive Committee (NEC), to be mindful of their duties, as decisions taken have far-reaching consequence on the path to Victory 2008.

"We very much appreciate your roles and assistance and look forward to your committee's inputs in our march towards victory in 2008," he emphasized. NPP, he said, would succeed itself, so the members should work hard to ensure total victory. An elated Vice President, Aliu Mahama said the composition of the committee brings hope to the party because of their wealth of experience. "I can see a great hope in this party," he stressed. He urged them to inject dynamism and life into the party as there was no time to waste.

Speaking on behalf of the members, Mr. Ala Adjetey charged them to put their hands on the wheel to ensure total victory. "I'm appealing to all of us who have been appointed, to work hard. If the committees work hard, the work of the party would proceed smoothly," he stated. The former Speaker noted that there was no alternative to the NPP, therefore members should not disappoint. "I have been in politics for 40 years. And I can say sincerely that this is the best we have had. If we abandon it, we have abandoned our destiny. "Please let us work hard to consolidate on our position by winning the 2008 elections," he said. Other committees inaugurated were Finance, Conference and Events Organising, Communication and Network and Organisation.

Members of the Finance Committee are Madam Gifty Asantewaa Ayeh (Daavi Ama), National Treasurer, Mrs. Irene Addo, Legal Practitioner, Kwaku Attafuah, Mrs. Georgina Kusi, Paul Afoko, Yoofi Grant of Databank, Alhaji Aminu Amadu, a businessman and Collins Adu Gyamfi, who acts as chairman. The Organisation Committee comprises Major Courage Quarshigah, Minister of Health (Chairman), Rita Asobayire, Women's Organiser, Alhaji Arimiyao Atta, Special Assistant to the Vice President, Isaac Asiamah, MP for Atwima Mponua, Hon Joe Donkor, former Deputy Minister of Education, F.F. Anto, former Ashanti Regional Chairman and Lord Commey, National Organiser.

Nana Ohene Ntow, NPP General Secretary and a former Communication lecturer at the University of Ghana, is chairing the Communication and Network Committee, made up of Stephen Ntim for Vice Chairman, Ofosu Amoah, Madam Elizabeth Appenteng, Dr. Somuah, Prof Bluwey, Haruna Atta, Editor of Accra Daily Mail and Nana Akomea, former Minister of Information and MP for Okaikoi South.

The Conference and Events Organising Committee is chaired by Ms Esther Ofori, Chief Executive Officer of the Ghana Trade Fair Company, Ms Gloria Akuffo, Minister of State designate for Aviation, Kwasi Ankamah, Special Assistant to the Chief of Staff, Ato Williams, Antwi Agyei, Lord Commey, Hon Joe Baidoo-Ansah, Deputy Minister-designate for Tourism and Diasporean Affairs and John Buadu, National Youth Organiser.

ModernGhana Links

Join our Newsletter