modernghana logo

FEATURED STORY Tithe Paying Is Certainly A Sin...

1 September 2008 | NPP News

NDC, NPP Battle For Accra

Daily Guide
NDC, NPP Battle For Accra

The Greater Accra Regional branches of the main opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC) and the ruling New Patriotic Party (NPP) are set to engage in a fierce electoral battle to capture the region with completion of primaries in all 27 constituencies.

The two leading contenders in Election 2008 would be contesting all the 27 parliamentary seats in the region with NDC nominating 26 males and one female whilst the NPP has 22 men and five women to do battle.

Daniel Annang, NDC regional chairman and Albert Afaglo, NPP acting regional secretary, in separate interviews with Ghana News Agency on Friday outlined their operational strategy to win the region.

The seats being contested for are Ablekuma South, Fritz Baffour for the NDC as against Francis Kojo-Smith of the NPP; Ashaiman, Alfred Kwame Agbesi, NDC against Francis Bennard Ayenator of the NPP; Korle-Klotey, Nii Armah Ashietey, NDC against Samuel James Adjei Tawaih of the NPP.

Others are Shai Osudoku, David Asumeng for the NDC against Daniel Dugan of the NPP; Tema East, Kempex Ofosuware against Evans Ashong Narh: Ada, Alex Tetteh Enyo against Kofi Plahar; Sege, Alfred Abayatei against Mr. Divine Otoo Agorhum.

Ablekuma North, Alfred Tawiah Smith against Justice Joe Appiah; Krowor, Dr. Kwei Kumah against Joseph Ayikoi Otoo; Kpone Katamanso, Nii Laryea Afotey Agbo against Samuel Okoh Amankwah; Abokobi Madina, Alhaji Adamu Sorogho for NDC against Mr Abdulai Baba Zakaria of the NPP.

The rest are: Ayawaso Central, Dr Ofei Agyemang for the NDC against Sheikh Isaac Cudjo Quaye of the NPP; Ayawaso West Wugoon, Kojo Twum Boafo against Madam Akosua Opare; Ayawaso East, Dr Mustapha Ahmed against Salisu Baba.

La Dedekotopon, Nii Nyomo Namoale for the NDC would contest Dr Francis Nii Annan Sowah of the NPP; Ningo Prampram, Enoch Tei Mensah against Abednego Tawaih Okorno; Obom Domeabra, David Yemoah against Nii Ayitey Boafo; Odododiodio, Nii Tackie-Kome against Mr Adjei Sowah; Weija, Mr Sherif Doudo for the NDC against Ms Shirley Ayorkor Botchwey of the NPP.

Dome Kwabenya, Sabah Okaikoi Zita would stand in for the NDC against Prof. Mike Ocquaye of the NPP; Adenta, Ben Adu Asare against Kwadwo Opare-Hammond; Ledzokuku, Nii Nortey Duah against Mrs Gladys Norley Ashitey.

Okaikoi South, Isaac Mensah would stand in for the NDC against Nana Akomea of the NPP; Ablekuma Central, Theophilous Chea for the NDC against Robert Sarbah of the NPP; Trobu Amasaman, Ernest Ato Kwei Armah against Moses Anim; Okaikoi North, Augustus Kwaku Ashong against Mrs Elizabeth Tawiah Sackey and for Tema West, George Medie for the NDC against Ms Irene Naa-Torshie Addo of the NPP.

Both parties claimed that they had identified their operation shortfalls during Elections 2004 that led to the loss of strategic seats and had adopted measures to win 80 percent of seats in the region.

"We have adopted a modern political party organization strategy aimed at propelling the party to retain our seats and win back all other seats we lost marginally to our opponents," Mr. Annang told the GNA.

In Election 2004, the NPP won 16 out of the 27 seats whilst the NDC had 11. In the presidential election, President John Agyekum Kufuor won the region by 51.9 percent of the valid votes cast as against 46.3 percent by Professor John Evans Atta Mills.

The other political parties, the People's National Convention, the Convention People's Party, Democratic Freedom Party, Democratic People's Party, Great Consolidated Popular Party and the newly formed parties were yet to complete their primaries. GNA

quot-img-1he who looks down on another has low self esteem

By: macswallow quot-img-1