Round N° 1 on 1/31/2008 Senegal 1 - 1 South Africa
Round N° 1 on 1/23/2008 South Africa 1 - 1 Angola
Round N° 1 on 1/27/2008 Tunisia 3 - 1 South Africa

South Africa - Bafana Bafana

The Bafana Bafana are back again and will be looking to perform better after playing so poorly in the last three editions of the African Cup of Nations. As host country of 2010 World Cup, they will need to give a good impression of themselves and play much better unlike their woeful display in the last nations cup in Egypt where they lost all three matches and failed to score a single goal. New coach Carlos Parreira, Brazil's world cup winning coach in 1994, has brought in more stability and balance to a team that was faltering. With the exclusion of star player Benni McCarthy (Blackburn Rovers) the question is, where will the goals come from. The 23 man squad consists of a whole new generation of players embarking on a new challenge to make up for performances of the past. The team will look to Sibusiso Zuma (Armina Bielefeld, Germany) to lead them in Ghana.

Squad Selections

Rowen Fernandez (Arminia Bielefeld, Germany); Moeneeb Josephs (BidVest Wits, South Africa); Itumaleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa)


Vuyo Mere (Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa); Bryce Moon (Ajax Cape Town, South Africa); Benson Mhlongo (Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa); Bevan Fransman (Moroka Swallows, South Africa); Tsepo Masilela (Maccabi Haifa, Israel); Brett Evans (Ajax Cape Town, South Africa); Nasief Morris (Panathinaikos, Greece); Aaron Mokoena (Blackburn Rovers, England)


Kagiso Dikgacoi (Golden Arrows, South Africa); Elrio van Heerden (Club Brugge, Belgium); Lance Davids (Djurgardens, Sweden); Surprise Moriri (Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa); Siphiwe Tshabalala (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Steven Pienaar (Everton, England); Teko Modise (Orlando Pirates, South Africa)


Excellent Walaza (Orlando Pirates, South Africa); Thembinkosi Fanteni (Ajax Cape Town, South Africa); Lerato Chabangu (Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa); Katlego Mphela (Supersport United, South Africa); Sibusiso Zuma (Arminia Bielefeld, Germany).


Namibia Guinea Morocco Ghana
Nigeria Benin Mali Ivory Coast
Egypt Sudan Zambia Cameroon
Tunisia Angola South Africa Senegal