22.12.2007 NPP News

NPP elects – who bears the flag?

By myjoyonline
NPP elects – who bears the flag?
Listen to article

The New Patriotic Party (NPP) is holding its national delegates congress this morning December 22, 2007.

The congress venue is the Great Hall of the University of Ghana, Legon.

There are 17 aspirants contesting for the position of flag bearer. The flag bearer will lead the NPP in the 2008 Presidential election which would signal the end of tenure of office of sitting President J. A. Kufuor.

The 17 are Vice President Aliu Mahama, Nana Addo Dankwa Akuffo-Addo, Dr. Arthur Kennedy, Alan Kyeremanten, Hackman Owusu-Agyeman, Felix Owusu-Agyepong, and Prof. Kwabena Frimpong-Boateng. The others are Dan Botwe, Kwabena Agyapong, Dr. Kwame Addo Kufuor, Boakye Agyarko, Jake Obetsebi-Lamptey, Dr. Kofi Konadu Apraku and Agyei Barwuah. The rest are, Yaw Osafo-Maafo, Papa Owusu-Ankomah and Prof. Mike Ocquaye.

These aspirants have spent many months travelling across the country and the globe talking to and trying to convince delegates to vote for them.

The Great Hall of the University of Ghana is fully packed with the over 2300 delegates from all over the country and overseas branches of the party who are eagerly waiting to cast their votes. The anxious candidates are also seated.

The President of Ghana is present and members of other political parties are also present.

Also present are NPP executives, the media, both local and foreign and some observers.

There are 2000 police officers to keep the peace, and 200 motor traffic police officers to control the flow of traffic.

At the end of voting, who will bear the flag?

ModernGhana Links

Join our Newsletter