modernghana logo

FEATURED STORY Photo Story Of The Life Of Ebony Reigns...

body-container-line

Kwame Opoku, Dr.: 216 Publications

Altar group honouring Oba Akenzua I, Benin. Ethnologisches Museum, Berlin.

Benin Exhibition In Chicago: Cuno Agrees To Consider Request For Restitution Of Benin Bronzes

Monday, July 14, 2008

As readers know, the exhibition, Benin - Kings and Rituals: Royal Arts from Nigeria, which started in Vienna, in 2007, w ...

Friday, July 11, 2008

Ben Macintyre's article Let's all have tickets to the universal museum, in Timesonline, July 10, 2008, is one of those a ...

Wednesday, July 9, 2008

When I read the article entitled How one cultural vision has lessons for the whole world by Tristram Hunt, in the Obse ...

Friday, July 4, 2008

James Cuno, Director, Art Institute of Chicago, has become known for his constant attacks on those he terms nationalist ...

Sunday, June 29, 2008

Although the Art Newspaper published the details of the arrangements on Friday, 27 June, 2008, the contract between Abu ...

Thursday, June 19, 2008

There has been a lot of publicity these last days for James Cuno s book, Who owns Antiquity? Including several radio dis ...

Sunday, June 8, 2008

In order to deny States the right to control excavations on their land and to prevent them from claiming ownership of ...

Saturday, May 17, 2008

And I am left thinking that the Enlightenment principles on which public museums in the United States were established ...

Sunday, May 11, 2008

Queen-mother Idia, Benin/Nigeria, now in the British Museum. (1) Seized by the British during the invasion of Benin in ...

Sunday, April 27, 2008

Universal culture can only be achieved when all cultures are able and free to make their contribution but this cannot be ...

Monday, April 21, 2008

Reference is made to the letter from Philippe de Montebello, Director of the Metropolitan Museum of Art (1), New York, w ...

Monday, April 14, 2008

The restitution of those cultural objects which our museums and collections, directly or indirectly, possess thanks to ...

Monday, April 14, 2008

We have in previous articles raised the issue of copyright in stolen African cultural objects that are now in European ...

Sunday, April 6, 2008

For those who are hoping that the British Museum may reconsider its position on the Parthenon/Elgin Marbles and adopt a ...

Thursday, April 3, 2008

We are reading almost on a daily basis some comment or reply by a European or an American museum director in defence of ...

Tuesday, April 1, 2008

It is becoming increasingly clear that many of the European museum directors are not very convinced of the soundness of ...

Monday, March 24, 2008

I was once asked by someone, who was aware of my view that African art objects in European museums should in principle ...

Wednesday, March 19, 2008

The exhibition, BENIN, 600 YEARS OF COURTLY ART FROM NIGERIA, Museum of Ethnology, Berlin, 7 February 2008-25 May 2008, ...

Saturday, March 1, 2008

The contested human remains in Western museums were collected at a time of gross inequality of power. A power that we n ...

Sunday, February 24, 2008

In his interview of January 27, 2008 with Richard Lacayo, A Talk With: James Cuno http://www.elginism.com/20080201/976 ...

Saturday, February 16, 2008

It is simply amazing how Eurocentric and selfish many of the arguments of the defenders of plunder and stealing of other ...

Friday, February 15, 2008

A people who free themselves from foreign domination will be free culturally only if, without complexes and without und ...

Thursday, February 14, 2008

The general impression we got from the Benin Exhibition, now in Paris until 6 January 2008, was that on the premises of ...

Wednesday, February 13, 2008

Berlin, Berlin, Berlin, Benin bronzes burnt in Berlin? Berlin boasts 482 Benin bronzes but Benin bleeds badly. ...

Tuesday, February 12, 2008

I, the great general of the German troops, send this letter to the Herero people... All Hereros must leave this land... ...

Sunday, February 10, 2008

Maybe because I come from a country which has not been noted for warfare and aggressive actions, and does not see itself ...

Friday, February 8, 2008

After reading a lot of books and articles on the question of restitution of cultural objects stolen or illegally exporte ...

body-container-line