modernghana logo

FEATURED STORY If By December I'm Still Alive, I Will Burn Down 'fake' Pastors Churches -S...

body-container-line

Kwame Opoku, Dr.: 216 Publications

Side-blown horn, Benin, Museum für Völkerkunde, Vienna.

Does Collaboration Between Nigerian And European /american Museums Bring Us Closer To Restitution Of Nigeria's Stolen/looted Arts?

Saturday, November 8, 2008

How many such ivory horns did the British steal in 1897? As readers may know, many Africans are very suspicious of co ...

Tuesday, October 21, 2008

Who knows how great his inspiration might have been on Nigerian music had he stayed in Benin rather than be hidden in th ...

Monday, October 20, 2008

It looks as if Britain is finally coming to the conclusion that stolen/looted cultural objects should be returned to the ...

Thursday, October 16, 2008

Ka-Nefer- Nefer Mask, Saqqara, Egypt, now in St.Louis Art Museum (SLAM), USA(http://paul-barford.blogspot.co ...

Monday, October 13, 2008

Hardly a day passes by without some call for the return of the stolen cultural objects of Benin. In the whole of Africa ...

Friday, October 3, 2008

Captured by the British Punitive Expedition and sold into German Captivity in 1897. The following are some of ...

Sunday, September 28, 2008

The charge of nationalism (whether outdated or au courant) is frequently levelled at those seeking the repatriation of ...

Friday, September 26, 2008

Italy has returned to Greece, a piece of the Parthenon, Palermo fragment which has been missing from Athens for 200 ye ...

Tuesday, September 16, 2008

Probably very few countries have been so systematically and intensively deprived of their cultural objects with tremendo ...

Monday, September 15, 2008

Plaque showing the body of a Portuguese soldier, Benin. The upper part of the soldier is in London, British Museum, and ...

Wednesday, September 10, 2008

According to the report below, Nigeria has, with effect from last Friday, 30th September, 2008, a Cultural Centre, Niger ...

Saturday, September 6, 2008

When the American Association of Museums (AAM) issued on 11 August, 2008, its new rules, Standards Regarding Archaeologi ...

Monday, September 1, 2008

At a seminar on Edo Culture organized by the Edo Community in Vienna on Friday 29 August 2008 where I spoke on the resti ...

Saturday, August 23, 2008

In an article entitled, A Humanist Plea for Free-ranging Antiquities, (1) Alan Behr, a New York lawyer praises James ...

Friday, August 22, 2008

With the exception of Nigeria, Brazil is the country with the largest African population in the world. It is therefore ...

Sunday, August 17, 2008

I, the great general of the German troops, send this letter to the Herero people... All Hereros must leave this land... ...

Friday, August 15, 2008

This book corresponds to what I think the average visitor to an exhibition needs: a short introduction to the subject-ma ...

Wednesday, August 13, 2008

There are probably few countries in the world that can boast of such an abundance of cultural treasures as Nigeria, one ...

Monday, August 11, 2008

The striding and perhaps, growling, lion is surely an appropriate symbol for the power and influence of the three countr ...

Wednesday, August 6, 2008

Kwame Opoku, a tireless commentator on restitution issues (one of whose [URL=http://www.afrikanet.info/index.php?option= ...

Wednesday, August 6, 2008

Kenya has once again underlined its determination to recover the thousands of artefacts that were taken away from the co ...

Sunday, July 27, 2008

We Westerners are the ones who confer the quality of art to these objects. These statues should not return to Africa. ...

Wednesday, July 23, 2008

The information below indicates that the demand for the return of the Benin artefacts which the British looted in 1897 i ...

Sunday, July 20, 2008

The article entitled C ...

Friday, July 18, 2008

The article below provides us further report on the opening of the exhibition which is now at the Art Institute of Chica ...

Friday, July 18, 2008

According to the report below, the President of Kenya has reiterated Kenya s demand for the return of cultural objects w ...

Monday, July 14, 2008

We have had within the last few days a spate of articles, all praising in fulsome language the British Museum and its di ...

body-container-line