modernghana logo

FEATURED STORY If By December I'm Still Alive, I Will Burn Down 'fake' Pastors Churches -S...

body-container-line

Kwame Opoku, Dr.: 216 Publications

Recovering Nigeria’s Terracotta

Recovering Nigeria’s Terracotta

Thursday, October 1, 2009

It is now five months since the issue of looted African terracotta was raised in connection with the exhibition entitle ...


Tuesday, September 29, 2009

Those who have been following discussions on questions of restitution and preservation of cultural objects know the high ...

Tuesday, August 18, 2009

Corruption, like tango, requires two partners. A seminal study by Peju Layiwola, dealt with the question of th ...

Sunday, August 9, 2009

It appears legitimate to question whether the directors of universal museums ever learn from experience. When we read ...

Tuesday, July 28, 2009

It seems there is nobody in the whole of Great Britain who can persuade the Director of the British Museum, Neil MacGreg ...

Sunday, July 5, 2009

Sometimes, certain acts occur which make us believe that there is still chance for humankind and that not all persons ha ...

Tuesday, June 23, 2009

A major exhibition on Ife art, Dynasty and Divinity: Ife Art in Ancient Nigeria, opened on June 16, 2009 at the Fundació ...

Friday, May 22, 2009

The looting of archaeological items and the destruction of archaeological sites in Africa are a cause of irreparable da ...

Tuesday, May 12, 2009

I find the proposal to apply principles developed in child custody cases to disputes regarding the ownership of looted a ...

Wednesday, April 22, 2009

The restitution of those cultural objects which our museums and collections, directly or indirectly, possess thanks to ...

Sunday, April 19, 2009

Norman Rosenthal suggested sometime ago that there should be an end to claims for restitution of Nazi-Looted art and was ...

Sunday, April 5, 2009

In an interview reproduced below from the PUNCH, the Director-General of the National Commission for Museums and Monumen ...

Tuesday, March 17, 2009

The latest statements by the Director of the Art Institute of Chicago in an interview entitled Treaty on antiquities hi ...

Saturday, March 14, 2009

Those who saw the exhibition, Benin: Kings and Rituals - Court Arts from Nigeria would be familiar with the name and wri ...

Thursday, March 12, 2009

I enjoyed reading the article entitled Yours, Mine, Ours: Taking the Culture out of Cultural Property in Antiquities W ...

Thursday, February 26, 2009

In looking up the background surrounding the proposed auction by Christie's, I came across some materials which I found ...

Sunday, February 22, 2009

When I listened to the recent lecture by Neil MacGregor, Director, British Museum on the 250th anniversary of the muse ...

Monday, February 9, 2009

The recent article by James-Cuno Where-do-the-great-treasures-of-ancient-art-belong? clearly demonstrates his unwillin ...

Saturday, January 24, 2009

Alastair Bruce may have a filial duty in respect of the Parthenon/Elgin Marbles and no one can criticise him for that. ( ...

Monday, January 19, 2009

I listened with great interest to the lecture by Thomas Gaehtgens on Challenging the Encyclopedic Museum - Berlin's Muse ...

Tuesday, January 13, 2009

The public interest must surely be in upholding the rule of law, rather than promoting an international free-for-all th ...

Friday, January 9, 2009

I enjoyed reading most of what Britt Peterson wrote in Tales from the Vitrine: Battles Over Stolen Antiquities in The ...

Sunday, January 4, 2009

The choice of a personality as Briton of the year is clearly a matter for British nationalists and a non-Briton has no ...

Monday, December 22, 2008

I have just seen a video report of CNN on Zahi Hawass, the famous Egyptian archaeologist as interviewed and reported by ...

Friday, December 5, 2008

Crown of Tewodros II, Ethiopia, the Victoria and Albert Museum, London, United Kingdom. Looted during the invasion of M ...

Tuesday, December 2, 2008

In his review of Cuno's Who owns Antiquities?, (www.savingantiquities.org) Lord Renfrew sees as a weakness in ...

Sunday, November 9, 2008

The question that many observers must be asking themselves these days is when will Britain finally join the movement for ...

body-container-line