modernghana logo

FEATURED STORY A Pastor Or A Parasite?...

body-container-line

Kwame Opoku, Dr.: 226 Publications

Travelling Exhibition as Alternative to Restitution? Comments on Suggestion by Director of the British Museum

Travelling Exhibition as Alternative to Restitution? Comments on Suggestion by Director of the British Museum

Sunday, March 25, 2012

The Director of the British Museum has indeed a fertile mind that never tires of inventing new defences for the retentio ...

Sunday, March 11, 2012

The decision by the Turkish Government to stop loans of artefacts to museums with which it has disputes regarding ar ...

Thursday, February 16, 2012

Enlightenment philosophy was instrumental in codifying and institutionalizing both the scientific and popular European ...

Friday, January 27, 2012

In Africa, South-East Asia and South Asia, the pattern of exploration, colonization, tribute, and then the punitive rem ...

Friday, December 16, 2011

It is indeed unfortunate that so much Nok material has been looted over time to supply the international market. Pro ...

Monday, November 21, 2011

I, the great general of the German troops, send this letter to the Herero people. The Herero are no longer German subje ...

Friday, August 26, 2011

The exhibition is showcasing some of the works that made Benin (Nigeria) famous. It once again, reminds the world of a ...

Thursday, August 25, 2011

We are going to sell the entire Africa collection and the Americas collection, and will only keep the top piece ...

Thursday, July 14, 2011

His attitude is dishonourable. I regret that Nigeria was weak enough to accept to sign an agreement in order to give ...

Wednesday, June 22, 2011

Malian cultural heritage has for several decades, undergone a massive transfer toward Europe and the United States. Ana ...

Tuesday, May 3, 2011

Dorotheum, an auction house in Vienna, Austria has announced for 3 May, 2011, an auction of African art objects from the ...

Saturday, April 16, 2011

In an article entitled European treatment harms African works? in the Art Newspaper, (issue no.223. http://www.theart ...

Sunday, April 3, 2011

All those who thought with his resignation, Hawass was finished and that the question of restitution will now be posed i ...

Saturday, March 26, 2011

I believe that people who use the revolution as an argument for not returning artifacts do not even deserve to be taken ...

Wednesday, March 16, 2011

At the height of the protest organized by the Nigeria Liberty Forum against a proposed auction of a Queen-Mother Idia hi ...

Saturday, February 5, 2011

I read with interest and sometimes, with astonishment the article by Professor John Picton, Emeritus Professor, School o ...

Friday, January 28, 2011

On the other hand, even after giving away the colourful bust of Nefertiti, the Berlin Museum would still be far superio ...

body-container-line