Progressive People Party

Progressive People's Party (PPP) (Akan: K? anim ?manfo Apontow) is a political party in Ghana. It was formed in 2012 by Paa Kwesi Nduom, who was the presidential candidate for Convention People's Party in the 2008 general election.[1] The Progressive Peoples Party managed to pull 64,267 popular votes in the 2012 general elections with Dr. Papa Kwesi Nduom as the flagbearer and Ms. Eva Lokko as the running mate, making it the third largest Political party and the 2nd largest opposition party in Ghana.[2] History The party's formation followed the declaration on 28 December 2011 by Dr. Papa Kwesi Nduom for progressive and independent-minded people to rise and cause to be formed an alternative political movement. The interim leadership of the progressive movement began a nationwide campaign to recruit members to form Interim Regional and Constituency Executives. The team visited all the ten regions of Ghana. In January 2012 the party submitted an application to the Electoral Commission for registration in accordance with the Political Parties Act. The party received its provisional certificate on Friday 3 February 2012. The party went to the first National Convention on 25 February 2012 which was held at the Accra Sports Stadium. The Final Certificate was received on Thursday 15 March 2012. The party's ultra-modern National Head Office Building is located at Asylum Down, Accra. The motto of the party is "Prosperity in Peace" with "Awake" as the slogan. Structure The Party has elected officers in two-thirds of the districts in Ghana as well as Regional Executives. Elected National Officers of the party include Dr. Nii Allotey Brew-Hammond, Chairman; Mrs Mary Ankomah Boakye-Boateng, 1st Vice Chairperson; Alhaji I.B.M Seidu, 2nd Vice Chairperson; Mr. Kofi Asamoah-Siaw, Secretary; Mr. Paa Kow Ackon, Deputy Secretary; Ms. Berlinda Bulley, Women Coordinator; Mr. Divine Nkrumah, Youth Coordinator; Mr. Felix Ograh, Treasurer; Nana Ofori Owusu, Director of Operations; Mrs Victoria Aligboh, Director of Research; Mr. Richmond Keelson, Director of Communications.